Sunday Morning Means Miss Shirley’s

12 Dec

This morning my roommates Megan and Bridget, and I began our day with breakfast at Miss Shirley’s.  In the heat of writing papers and studying for finals this is just what we needed.  A trip to Miss Shirley’s is always amazing and the unique lengthy menu can drive you crazy, but you won’t be disappointed with whatever you chose.

Even though we didn’t have to wait to be seated (which is a rare occasion), we debated for a while on what to order.  Blueberry pancakes, an omlette, french toast, or waffles.  This went on for about ten minutes, until we finally made up our minds.  I took a break from my usual choice–blueberry pancakes (which I love) and opted for the french toast.  Megan decided on the mini Belgian waffles, and Bridget ordered eggs over easy accompanied with hash browns, bacon, and toast.

Our breakfast came out shortly after we ordered and I was more than satisfied with my choice.  Their french toast is made on challah bread, so it is extra fluffy and delicious.  I will definitely be getting this again in the future.

After we were all done indulging, being in the Christmas spirit, especially since Miss Shirley’s was decorated with Christmas wreaths, garland, ornaments, and bows, Megan ordered a spiked egg nog.  Personally I am not a huge fan of egg nog, but it looked great.  It was served with a cinnamon stick and the glass was rimmed with cinnamon sugar.  The drink may have not won me over, but the presentation certainly did.

Unfortunately it was finally time to leave and now I have no choice but to continue writing papers on this grey, rainy day.  On the upside, thanks to Miss Shirley’s, at least my day started off fun and relaxing.

French Toast on Challah Bread

Spiked Egg Nog

Leave a Reply

