Cookie Cutter Chaos

11 Dec


My roommate Jessie and I decided that we wanted to make cookies using a gingerbread man cookie cutter.  Sounds simple.  So after I found this great recipe for cinnamon sugar cookies (because I don’t actually like gingerbread ones), I got started.  Knowing that I haven’t always had success with cookie cutters I tested two of the gingerbread men.  (For some reason and I don’t know if it’s just me or everyone has this problem, but whenever I use a cookie cutter the cookies always lose the shape and end up looking sad.)

Everything was going smooth, until I took them out of the oven and of course the gingerbread men were twice their size.  I was disappointed, but I kinda figured that would happen, so I made the rest of the cinnamon sugar cookies normally and they came out looking and tasting great.  I definitely recommend the recipe I used and I plan on making these again closer to Christmas.

Recipe – Cinnamon Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed (I used light brown sugar)
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 cup white sugar
2 1/2 cups cake flour (I used whole wheat flour and they still taste delicious)
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup butter (I used a little less than 1 full cup)
2 large eggs
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Directions-

1.Preheat oven to 375 degrees                                                                                                   2.Sift together the flour, cinnamon (use any amount you want), baking soda, and salt and sift together.                                                                                                             3.Place the softened butter and brown sugar in a large mixing bowl and add 1/2 cup of white sugar.  Blend them together with an electric mixer until creamy and add the eggs and vanilla extract.  Stir in the dry ingredients and mix well.    4.Wrap the dough in plastic (or just put it in a ziploc bag) and let it chill in the refrigerator for about an hour.                                                                                          5.Then roll the dough into small balls and sprinkle with a mixture of cinnamon and regular sugar.                                                                                                                      6.Place the cookies on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for about 10 to 12 minutes or until the bottoms are brown.                                                                     7.Remove the cookies, let cool, and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

